Cold Fighting Tea

Cold Fighting Tea

IMG_0649

This week I finally succumbed to a cold that I’ve been trying not to get for weeks. I woke up this morning with a clogged/runny nose and a sore throat. My sinuses are killing me. After rubbing some Vick’s on my throat and chest, I started Googling cold combatives. I found a lot of similar recipes that had honey and cinnamon, others honey and lemon, and some with Apple Cider Vinegar. Growing up my father always made me “Hot Lemon and Honey” which is basically just boiled water with lemon juice and honey added. It’s great for sore throats, but I needed something stronger this time to actually kick this cold.

Usually when I get sick I start popping Echinacea supplements to boost my white blood cell count and fight off the cold. So I took that idea and decided to morph it into something yummy.

I went to the store and bought some Echinacea tea! This way I could drink my immunity booster as well as add all the extra cold fighting ingredients. So here’s the recipe for my tea.

IMG_0648

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag Echinacea tea
  • 1 tbsp thinly sliced ginger (I used a tea ball to steep it)
  • 2 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar (Bragg is my favorite brand)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 2 tbsp honey (or more for sweetness)
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp cinnamon
  • just a dash of ground Cayenne pepper (optional)

IMG_0649

Directions:

Boil roughly 1 cup of water (depending on how big your mug is). Put teabag and ginger in mug and pour boiling water over it. Add remaining ingredients and let sit for 1-2 minutes. Remove ginger and teabag…Enjoy! *It may look a little cloudy, this is due to the vinegar and spices. Never fear, cloudiness is normal.*

Surprisingly the tea tastes really good. I know, you wouldn’t think so considering all the weird ingredients, but it’s true! This time I just eyeballed the honey and it wasn’t quite enough, but you can adjust the sweetness accordingly.

I hope that this helps all of you out there who are battling the same icky sickness. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a comment